Payment for Medical Records in Michigan
A number of states have adopted laws and regulations addressing what medical facilities can charge for reproducing medical records for a patient. In Michigan, Section 333.26269 of the Medical Records Access Act of 2004 is controlling.
Under the Act, in 2016 the initial fee is $23.34; $1:17 per page for the first 20 pages; .58 cents per page for pages 21-50; pages over 50 cost .23 cents per page. For “medically indigent” individuals, the first copy is free. (See section 9(4) of the Act). Section 9(4) does not apply to mental health providers.